Monday, September 25, 2006

Minor Awards

The Mets announced that first baseman Mike Carp was named the Sterling Minor League Organizational Player-of-the-Year while righthanded pitcher Mike Devaney earned Sterling Pitcher-of-the-Year honors.

In addition, the Mets also released the 2006 Sterling Awards, emblematic of the team Most Valuable Player, for each of their nine minor league clubs.Outfielder Lastings Milledge was the Sterling Award recipient at Norfolk (AAA) of the International League, first baseman Michel Abreu and outfielder Carlos Gomez were co-winners at Binghamton (AA) of the Eastern League, catcher Jesus Flores at St. Lucie (A) of the Florida State League, outfielder Fernando Martinez and lefthanded pitcher Jonathan Niese were co-winners at Hagerstown (A) of the South Atlantic League, outfielder Dustin Martin at Brooklyn (A) of the New York-Penn League, shortstop Emmanuel Garcia at Kingsport (R) of the Appalachian League, righthanded pitcher Josh Stinson with the Gulf Coast Mets, second baseman Greg Veloz won with the Dominican Summer League while outfielder Gabriel Zavala captured the award with the Venezuelan Summer League.

No comments: